Tis’ the season for Haloween reads. Book Riot threw together a list of horror books for fans of genre giant Stephen King. Super cool to see Shining Girls on the list, alongside Inspection by Josh Malerman, The Hunger by Alma Katsu, Kanae Minato’s Confessions, and more.

Jessica Avery writes:

Not only is Beuke’s much loved The Shining Girls an excellent read-a-like for King fans, Beukes is also one of the other authors on this list that comes recommended by King himself. Beukes’s Depression-era science fiction horror follows serial killer Harper Curtis as he travels through time to murder the “shining girls.” But when one of these special young women gets the better of him in 1989, she turns the tables and starts stalking Curtis instead. In short, it’s a book about a time traveling serial killer, and the girl who goes “Hard Candy” on him. Many of King’s books have had strong, science fiction elements, so if some of your favorite King works are The Langoliers11/22/63, or Under the Dome, then you should consider making The Shining Girls your next read and taking a look at Lauren Beukes’s other works.

Beautiful photo of the South African edition of The Shining Girls courtesy of @ducavonp.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *